



FUSION FOR ENERGY

The European Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion Energy

THE GOVERNING BOARD

SUMMARY OF DECISIONS OF THE 9th MEETING OF THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE EUROPEAN JOINT UNDERTAKING FOR ITER AND THE DEVELOPMENT OF FUSION ENERGY ('FUSION FOR ENERGY')

Barcelona, 12th March 2009

The Governing Board of the European Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion Energy (Fusion for Energy) has:

- Approved the minutes of its eighth meeting.
- Taken note of information provided by the Chair of the Board and Euratom.
- Taken note of a progress report from the Director.
- Taken note of a report from the Chair of the Executive Committee.
- Taken note of a report from the Chair of the Technical Advisory Panel.
- Taken note of a report from the Ad-Hoc Group established by the Director on the Heating and Current Drive Systems Mix for ITER.
- Taken note of a final report on the 2008 Budget execution.
- Take note of the 2008 provisional annual accounts.
- Adopted the amended 2009 Budget.
- Adopted a decision to establish the F4E Site and Buildings Office and approved the terms of an agreement with the ITER Organisation.
- Decided to renew the mandate of the following members of the Executive Committee (ExCo) for two years, non-renewable, starting from 1st July 2009: Michel Bedoucha, Robert Freeman, Adelbert Goede, Lisbeth Grønberg, Reinhard Maix, Karl Tichmann and Kari Törrönen.
- Decided to appoint the following persons as new ExCo members for a period of two years, renewable once, starting from 1st July 2009: Clara Reyero Catala, Georgios Nicolaou, Giuseppe Mazzitelli, Krzysztof Jan Kurzydlowski and Pedro Manuel Brito da Silva Girão.
- Decided to thank the following persons who will not be continuing as ExCo members for their valuable services to this Committee as well as to Fusion for Energy: Alberto Coletti, António Cruz Serra, Jose Doncel, William D'Haeseleer and Andreas Werthmüller.
- Decided to appoint Karl Tichmann and Lisbeth Grønberg respectively as Chair and Vice Chair of the Executive Committee for two years, non-renewable, starting from 1st July 2009.

- Endorsed a paper on the current status of the negotiations between the representatives of the Voluntary Contributors and Fusion for Energy on the provision of the voluntary contributions for the Broader Approach pending an agreement to be reached during a meeting of the Contact Persons, Fusion for Energy and Euratom on the issues of liabilities and Intellectual Property Rights and with an understanding that:
 - F4E will cover from its budget the costs associated with the transportation of the Components (excluding packaging) to Japan; and
 - an appropriate funding scheme for the above costs covered by F4E needs to be agreed between the Voluntary Contributors and Euratom.
- Endorsed a report from the Joint F4E/CCE-FU Ad-Hoc Group on the JT60-SA Rebaselining.
- Invites Members to submit candidates until the end of April for the establishment of a reserve list for the Technical Advisory Panel.
- Confirmed that its next meetings will be taking place on 9th July and 26th November in Barcelona.

Done at Barcelona, 12th March 2009

For the Governing Board

Caa FVarandas

Carlos Varandas

Chair of the Governing Board