

FUSION FOR ENERGY

The European Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion Energy **The Governing Board**

DECISION OF THE GOVERNING BOARD

EXTENDING THE MANDATE OF THE DIRECTOR OF FUSION FOR ENERGY

THE GOVERNING BOARD OF FUSION FOR ENERGY,

HAVING REGARD to Council Decision (Euratom) 2007/198 of 27 March 2007 establishing the European Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion Energy (hereinafter "Fusion for Energy") and conferring advantages upon it¹;

HAVING REGARD to Council Decision (Euratom) 2013/791 of 13 December 2013 amending Council Decision Euratom) 2007/198 establishing the European Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion Energy and conferring advantages upon it²;

HAVING REGARD to the Statutes annexed to the Council Decision (Euratom) 2007/198 of 27 March 2007 establishing the European Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion Energy and conferring advantages upon it (hereinafter "the Statutes") and in particular Article 8(2) thereof, amended on 10 February 2015 with Council Decision (Euratom) 2015/224³;

HAVING REGARD to the Rules of Procedure of the Governing Board⁴, as amended by the Fusion for Energy Governing Board of 19 March 2015, and in particular Rule 12, Article 3;

WHEREAS:

(1) In accordance with Article 8 (2) of the Statutes, the Governing Board has appointed Johannes Schwemmer as Director of Fusion for Energy for a period of five years ending on the 31st of December 2020.

(2) After an evaluation of the Director by Euratom, and upon its proposal, the Board may extend the term of office of the Director once for a further period of not more than five years by two-thirds majority decision.

(3) Euratom has proposed to extend the mandate of Johannes Schwemmer as the Director of Fusion for Energy, at grade AD 15, for three years starting from the 1st of January 2021.

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The Governing Board has extended the mandate of Johannes Schwemmer as Director of Fusion for Energy for three years, effective from the 1st of January 2021.

Done at Barcelona, 29 September 2020.

¹ OJ L 90, 30/03/2007, p. 58

² O J L 349, 21/12/2013, p. 100-102

³ O J L 37, 13/02/2015, p.8.

⁴ F4E (15)-GB31-09.3 adopted on 19 March 2015.

Beatrix Vierkorn-Rudolph Chair of the Governing Board

Beatix Vielun - Rudolpl

Romina Berrelmans Secretary of the Governing Board

< 3.