

PERSONAL INFORMATION Joaquín Sánchez Sanz

Born in Madrid, Spanish citizen, married two children

WORK EXPERIENCE

Since 2004 Head of tye Fusion Department ("Laboratorio Nacional de Fusión")

CIEMAT

1993-2004 Project Leader: Diagnostics for the TJ-II stellarator (Madrid)

CIEMAT

1989-1993 Head of the Fusion Experimental Section

CIEMAT

1986-1989 Scientist, Fusion Division

CIEMAT

1979-1985 Fellow /assistant professor

Faculty of Physical Sciences, Complutense University Madrid

EDUCATION AND TRAINING

1986 PhD Physics

Complutense University, Madrid Low temperature plasma physics

1978 MSc Physics

Complutense University, Madrid

Fundamental Physics

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Publications >100 scientific and divulgation articles & book chapters, H=24. Supervisor of 3 PhD thesis 2014-2019 Member of the Board of Editors of the Nuclear Fusion Journal

2014-2013 Methiber of the board of Editors of the Nacieal 1 disjoin soc

Other Projects • 1996-2004: Chairman of the Specialists Working Group on Microwave reflectometry for ITER

• 1998-2002 Principal investigator Control and Data acquisition for the "Spline" beamline at ESRF

1999-2001 Task force leader for Diagnostics TF at JET

2001-2004 Scientific coordinator for the JET diagnostics enhancement projects

2008-2013 Principal investigator "CONSOLIDER project on Fusion Technology"

Conferences

- Chairman of ISFNT 2013 Conference and 2014 SOFT Conference.
- 8 invited talks at major international conferences (IAEA, EPS, PSI)

Seminars

- Lecturer at University Complutense, Madrid, University Autonoma, Madrid and Politechnical University, Barcelona, (Master and PhD courses)
- Participation in frequent divulgation activities: seminars, press interviews, TV and radio shows.

Other informations

- 2007 2015 Spanish delegate to the F4E Governing Board
- 2008 2011 Vice Chairman of the Consultive Committee on Energy-Fusion (EURATOM)
- 2009 2011 Chairman of the high level "GoC" committee, Euratom Fusion programme
- 2011 2013 Chairman of the ITER Science and Technology Advisory Committee
- 2011 2015 Chairman of the F4E Technical Advisory Panel
- 2011 2015 Vice Chairman of the F4E Governing Board
- 2015- 2020 Chairman of the F4E Governing Board